Design WIP: Hat for Knitscene

For the past few weeks, I’ve been working on a hat design for Knitscene for their Winter 2014 issue. A hat should not take a few weeks to design, but I’m working through a self-inflicted glitch, and it’s taking longer than it normally would.

Let’s start at the beginning. Magazines published by Interweave Press want you to snail mail a proposal and a swatch showing major elements of the design and in the yarn and color you’re proposing (which they change anyway, so I don’t know why they say it matters so much).

When I submitted my design, I had worked up a mini-hat that was so cute they couldn’t resist. The thing is, though, the design isn’t easily translating to a bigger scale. There’s a sort of swirl element that worked on the tiny hat, but is resisting my vision on the life-sized hat.

It took a while to figure out that I couldn’t make it work the way I wanted it to. Then it took a while to figure out what would work. Then it took a while to figure out the crown decreases (which always take a while, but since I’m bemoaning my mess, I’m including it in this list).

I don’t like to submit ideas for this very reason. Usually when I submit a design, I’ve either already knit it once or am close to finishing it. I like to do this for two reasons. 1) There are no suprises that I must discover and fix on deadline. That’s how mistakes are made. 2) If the publication doesn’t want my design, I can self-publish it and move on to one of my quadrillion other ideas.

Fortunately, this design is only a hat and it’s not due until mid-April, so the fact that I’m bobbing around in reason #1 isn’t such a big deal. And after knitting three (life-sized) prototypes, I finally have something I’m happy with. (And I have three more hats to sell at the farmer’s market next fall.)

I can’t show you the hat until it’s published, so how about a picture of one of the white-tail deer that live in my backyard.

Can you see the little antler nubs starting to form on this adolescent buck?

On the bright side:

  • I’m working on a hat for a major publication.
  • I have enough yarn in my stash to knit a million more prototypes.
  • The design is darn delicious.
Leave a Reply

