How a Morning Gets Gone

Last Saturday, I read photographer Gale Zucker’s post on her clever, creative video for an Etsy shop that sells handknit Cowichan-type sweaters from vintage patterns.

That led me to the Etsy website for her customer, Camp Kitschy Knits. (I’m glad someone likes to knit intarsia.)

Which rekindled my interest in these graphic sweaters that were popularized by the Canadian yarn companies Mary Maxim and White Buffalo in the 50s and 60s.

Mary Maxim took liberties with motifs.

White Buffalo offered traditional motifs.

Which led me to poking around on Etsy for other Cowichan sweaters, the prices of which making me think I should just suck it up and knit my own. (They’re knit with bulky yarn on big needles, so the pain of intarsia wouldn’t last too long.)

Which made me sad that I sold my copy of Salish Indian Sweaters by Patricia Gibson Roberts. (I needed the money.)

Which made me look for the book on half.com, the prices of which making me wish I had gotten more for the copy I sold.

Then I wondered if any bloggers had documented the knitting of such a sweater, and I found this completely unhelpful post on eHow that not only doesn’t give yarn amounts or charts, it doesn’t even show a picture of a Cowichan sweater in the post.

Then I did a search on Pinterest and got overwhelmed by all the motif possibilities, so I tried to narrow down my own options on Ravelry, and came across one of my favorites knit by Grumperina.

(c)Grumperina

Then I tried to find this particular buffalo pattern, but couldn’t, so I closed all my browswer tabs and made a ginger-blackberry-banana smoothie.

Do your mornings ever go this way?

Leave a Reply

