Raw Creamy Tomato-Basil Soup

I’ve never like tomatoes. Don’t know why. They are nightshade vegetables, which isn’t good for your joints, but I didn’t like them since before I knew I even had joints. As a kid, I took them off hamburgers, and as an adult ordered mine without. I like the little pops of red on a salad, and enjoy the little pops of red on the clean plate when I’m finished.

But this soup. Oh, this soup.

Don’t clean the blender after because you’ll want to make another batch.

Ingredients:

  • 3-4 campari or roma tomatoes | Vitamin C, Potassium (I usually use roma, but I got a deal on some comparis, so that’s what’s in the photo.)
  • 3-4 sundried tomato halves | Vitamin C, Potassium
  • 5-6 large fresh basil leaves | Vitamin K
  • 1/2 small avocado | Vitamin B5, Good Fat
  • Nutritional yeast flakes (optional) | Vitamin B12
  • Sea Salt | Sodium
  • Pepper | Pepper
  • Water

Throw everything in a blender with a bit of water and blend until smooth, seasoning with nutritional yeast, salt, and pepper to your own liking. Serve in a bowl as soup or in a glass as a smoothie. (Although, if I were going to make this a smoothie, I’d add some spinach.)

You could also omit the avocado and water, prepare in a food processor, and use it as a raw marinara sauce.

An acceptable exclamation point.

Leave a Reply

