Rejection: Lavender Sachets for Knit Picks

Yes folks, I’m collecting rejections like James Patterson collects ghost writers. This time from Knit Picks.

I have several patterns in their Independent Designer Program, which are my self-published patterns knit with their yarn, but Knit Picks also puts out their own pattern collections using designs from indies, or from their prolific in-house designer, Kerin Dimeler-Laurence, whose dream journals must be filled with knitting patterns that come forth fully written, graded, and formatted.

This latest call was for a Fair Isle* collection.

True Fair Isle motifs.

I knew that the competition would be tougher than usual this time because instead of throwing the term “Fair Isle designs” against the wall and seeing what stuck, they specified the items they wanted—one sweater, one cushion, one set of four lavender sachets, etc. So instead of competing for one of six or eight slots in the collection, I was competing for a very particular slot.

I’m not a fast knitter or a fast designer, and there was no way I could confidently design a Fair Isle garment in the few weeks before the deadline (I’m not Eunny Jang), but I could certainly design four little lavender sachets.

I spent some time with one of my favorite colorwork stitch dictionaries, 1,000 Great Knitting Motifs, looking for coordinated patterns that echoed each other, and found two I liked. Then I mocked up a series of designs in Excel using four of the colors they specified in their call, named the collection Quadiferous, and submitted a one-page proposal.

Yesterday, I received an email from them with the subject line of the name of my design. I’ve been rejected for their collections so many times, I didn’t even have to read it. I saw the brevity of the message and knew what it was.

Their acceptance emails are much longer and full of exclamation points. I know this because I’m in two of their collections. And it’s funny that they’re both lace designs: my Cherry Blossom Headband (which was named partly because I designed it with a pink yarn called Blossom Heather, but they knit the final in a light blue yarn so the name doesn’t make much sense) in their Under 100 Collection, and a cowl (that I had to rename from Slalom Cowl because I designed it in a snow-colored yarn, but they knit the final in a not-snow-colored yarn) that’s being released August 2014.

I don’t do lace, so I’m not sure why I would even be knitting or proposing lace designs, but now there’s proof. Twice.

On the bright side:

  • The charts are ready, so half the work is done if I decide to write up the pattern.
  • Rejection doesn’t hurt at all anymore.
  • I don’t use ghost writers.

*All Fair Isle knitting is stranded, but not all stranded knitting is Fair Isle. One of the questions in the Ravelry Designer’s forum about this call for submissions wondered if any stranded design was okay, and the answer from Knit Picks was yes. Oy. I suspect that none of the final designs will be true Fair Isle.

Leave a Reply

