Submission: Petal Tank to knit.wear

A fairly new magazine called knit.wear put out a call for submissions for their Spring/Summer 2015 issue. This is the sister magazine to Interweave Knits and Knitscene, and while it premiered only three years ago, it acts more like the serious, sophisticated elder sister who’s recently returned from boarding school than the ecstatic baby of the family.

The garments in the first issue struck me as classic and sedate, and just this side of boring. The styling of the items and the starkness of the photos may have contributed to my opinion, but there were a few drapey, shapeless sweaters and more than one asymmetrical cardigan, so I didn’t have many good reasons to subscribe.

Designs for pale, skinny girls.

I kept watching it, hoping that like Verena, it would get better, but I never fell in love with it. I favorited a couple of things in more recent issues, but not enough to justify giving the magazine some shelf space on my magazine bookcase.

Fortunately, feelings and subscriptions are irrelevant when you’re submitting.

I saw this call very close to the deadline and had only the weekend to come up with something, so I combined two rejects: the stitch pattern for a hat that a book didn’t want and the tank top shape I developed for the Adelante Tank. Then I knit up a swatch in some light pink cotton yarn, named it Petal Tank, wrote a proposal for their Ribs & Welts story, then mailed everything to Colorado.

My dislike of cotton yarn has been chomping my hind end lately, and all I had was some ‘I Love this Cotton’ yarn from Hobby Lobby. It’s a nice enough yarn and the swatch looks good, but I’m a little embarrassed to propose it to a national magazine. It’s not a cheap yarn, but it has a cheap reputation (which is not helped by its name).

I’m hoping the editor of knit.wear will be able to ignore the yarn and focus on the design, and then suggest a better yarn when she accepts it.

I think I’m finally done with submissions for a little while and I can get back to designing The Sweater.

To Ponder: Imaginary evil is romantic and varied; real evil is gloomy, monotonous, barren, boring. Imaginary good is boring; real good is always new, marvelous, intoxicating. |Simone Weil|

Leave a Reply

