Submission: Fingerless Mitts to Knitty

It’s way past the acceptance deadline for some fingerless mitts I submitted to Interweave Knits (which I didn’t blog about), so I submitted them to Knitty.

I usually take my own photos in my backyard, but Knitty would be publishing these photos, so they had to be good and interesting.

These mitts have a 1950s Atomic Era feel to them, and my sweet friend Angie just so happens to have Atomic-inspired home décor, so I took my camera and tripod over to her house last week and we got to work.*

I can’t show you the mitts, but I can show you parts of our fun photo shoot.

We started out in her kitchen, looking for creative ways to display the mitts.

Grabbing a pack of Dan Dare cards from a shelf.

Pouring nothing into a shot glass.

Then we moved outside where the light was better, and where her two dogs totally behaved themselves and didn’t try to sneak into the frame even once.**

A cool drink of blue food coloring with Live Oaks and paper towels in the background.

All the blood rushing to my head.

After I checked and rechecked my pattern, charts, and photos, and made sure I didn’t miss anything***, I uploaded my submission package—a week early!

I think this is my 527th submission to them, so please send up 527 prayers and good thoughts that this is my first acceptance.


*After we drank some coffee while she cleaned her kitchen.

**Not even the littlest bit true.

***I forgot to include my headshot. Grr.

To Ponder: Our greatest weakness lies in giving up. The most certain way to succeed is always to try just one more time. |-Thomas Edison-|

2 comments

Leave a Reply

