Counting My Blessings: March 2015

My car is running great, my yoga classes are filling with students, and the water continues to run in my little red cabin. This month, I’m specifically grateful for these things:

1. My sister had surgery to remove a tumor on the inside of her skull, and not only was the surgery a success and the doctors let her go home the next day, they didn’t shave her head. That’s a blessing for her, but I was blessed that we didn’t have to do as my brother suggested, which is shave our heads in solidarity.

2. I love being self-employed, and am always looking for new ways to earn money that will work with my yoga schedule and still allow me to design knitwear. It looks like house- and pet-sitting is going to be one of those ways. I pet-sat for my friend Kate in February, and casually mentioned it in another yoga class, and someone asked if I did that, and I thought, well, yes, I guess I do.

I had my second gig this month, sitting two sweet Schnauzers, living in a house with this view from the back porch:

Surrounded by beauty.

3. As mentioned in my last post, I took an intro to sailing class at the local yacht club. The cost was only $30 for two full weekends of classroom instruction and sailing.

Rigging the J-22.

Catching the wind.

I don’t really get sailing, and I certainly can’t afford it as a hobby, but I feel blessed to have the time and money to take the class and to spend a few days with people who know everything there is to know about sailing.

4. Mountain laurels are in bloom.

Making my world smell lovely.

What are you grateful for lately?

p.s. I’m wearing The Sweater in the sailing photos (taken by my friend Sylvie).

To Ponder: Don’t ask yourself what the world needs. Ask yourself what makes you come alive and then go do that. Because what the world needs is people who have come alive. |-Howard Thurman-|

Leave a Reply

