Submission: Hats to Knit Picks

Magazines and yarn companies are thinking about next spring, which means that I am thinking about next spring.

Knit Picks put out a call for submissions for their Spring 2016 Stashbusting collection. From the call:

Small, cute, fun and quick to knit, these projects are purposefully made with stashbusting in mind! Colorwork, pom-poms, stripes, and colorblocking are perfect ways to use up those last few bits of yarn to make something warm and cozy. Clever and whimsical details make these projects must knit. The collection will be divided by weight into sections featuring 50g, 100g, and 150g of yarn.

I had the perfect thing for them. When designing the Icelandic sweater I submitted to Interweave Knits a couple of weeks ago, I had taken a day trip into Norwegian territory. I used a hat to test the design, and it looked pretty good, so I knit a couple more hats to tweak the particulars.

A hat called Norge.

I submitted that hat a week early, and since I was flush with extra time, I worked on another hat design, this one using a cable that didn’t make the final cut for The Sweater.

I spent quite a few hours perfecting, what else?—the crown decreases. And I have three more hats to sell at the farmer’s market next fall.

And please don’t worry that my position as a procrastination super star is in jeopardy. I submitted the hat very late the night of the deadline.

A hat called Othello.

A hat called Othello.

Knit Picks sends out yays and nays by this Friday, so won’t you please send up prayers that they both earn a yay?

To Ponder: I am telling you to make a choice based on your passions and interests, not what everyone else is telling you to do. It doesn’t work that way. You wind up living a life for the wrong reasons, and you never get the most out of it. Just always think about why you are doing what you are doing. |-Jeff Hoffman-|

2 comments

Leave a Reply

