Decision: Tee by Louet

I have a lace-and-ribbing tee in my submission queue that I really love. It started as the Padre Island Tee when I submitted it to Knit Picks and Knitscene. Then it was called Island Tee when PomPom Quarterly rejected it.

And when I submitted it to the yarn company Louet in mid-July, I called it Long Island Tee.* The call said they were looking for tees, for lace, and for designs that use 2–6 skeins of yarn. It’s not often that an existing design hits a trifecta, but it is often that I’m rejected.

However…

Whether because of the name change or that this design’s time has finally come:

LOUET WANTS MY LONG ISLAND TEE FOR SPRING 2016!

I proposed it their Gems Sport yarn, a 100% merino wool. Admittedly a ridiculous fiber for a spring garment in central Texas, but I have to remember that a significant population of the world doesn’t start wearing shorts and flip-flops** in March, and may still appreciate the warmth of wool.

But when they accepted it, the editor asked me to use their Euroflax Sport, a 100% linen yarn. I agreed, partly because this design could be knit out of anything, even kitchen twine, but mostly because who am I to demand no brown M&Ms in my dressing room?

The yarn arrived yesterday.

Swatching begins today.

George Gently began last night.


*Thanks to my accountability partner, Melinda, for the joke that polished into a jewel.

**Not me. Not flip-flops. Not ever.

To Ponder: The person who says something is impossible should not interrupt the person who is doing it. |-Chinese Proverb-|

8 comments

  1. Congrats x a million! btw, wool is great for spring – I’ve knitted a couple of sleeveless tops in fingering merino – pretty cool to wear in a lot of the country as you say.

    1. Thanks, Mary! I’ve been seriously considering moving to a place where I can where wool most of the year. I look forward to seeing your wool version of the tee when the pattern comes out next spring.

Leave a Reply

